Return to Headlines

West Hills' Miller named MPSD Administrator of the Year


January 14, 2021- The Meridian Public School District is pleased to announce that the 2020-21 Administrator of the Year is Shannon Miller and the 2020-21 Teacher of the Year is Mindy Mendiola. The announcement was made during a ceremony held at West Hills Elementary and Northwest Middle School on Thursday, January 14, 2021.

Administrator of the Year – Shannon Miller, West Hills Elementary

MPSD Administrator of the Year, Shannon Miller, and MPSD Superintendent Dr. Amy Carter

Mrs. Miller is currently the principal of West Hills Elementary and has served in various leadership roles throughout the district over the past 21 years.

“Mrs. Miller was selected as Administrator of the Year for the Meridian Public School District for her commitment to providing quality learning experiences for students, the support that she provides to teachers, and her efforts to partner with parents and the community,” said Dr. Amy Carter, MPSD Superintendent. “Her unwavering dedication to the students, staff, and families she serves is commendable and is a true example of excellence in leadership.”

Teacher of the Year – Mindy Mendiola, Northwest Middle School

Photo of MPSD Teacher of the Year, Mindy Mendiola and Superintendent Dr. Amy Carter.

In her fifth year as a teacher, Mendiola teaches seventh-grade math at Northwest Middle School. 

“Ms. Mendiola exemplifies professionalism and excellence daily through her love and dedication to students,” said Dr. Amy Carter, MPSD Superintendent. “Her passion for learning is shown in her classroom, as well as, after hours and weekends as she coaches the volleyball team. More importantly, she answers the call to educate daily!”

The MPSD Teacher of the Year is chosen from those who represent their individual schools as Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to the following 2020-21 Teachers of the Year for each school:

Treka Evans, Carver; Tiana Brown, Crestwood; Kletina Campbell, Magnolia; Victoria Valdez, Meridian High; Leila James, Marion Park; Mindy Mendiola, Northwest; LaVesha Sharp, Oakland Heights; Jasmin King, Parkview; Makenzie Woodward, Poplar Springs; Jennifer Rogers, Ross Collins; Natasha Palmer, TJ Harris Upper; Julie Gressett, TJ Harris Lower; Jessica Ethridge, West Hills