Return to Headlines

MPSD teachers awarded J.A. mini grants

13 educators in the Meridian Public School District were awarded mini-grants by the Junior Auxiliary of Meridian at a reception on Monday, November 11, 2019, at Weidmann’s in Meridian.

The winners from MPSD are:

•Carla Fleming, Marion Park School of Innovation- Positive Destinations and Sensory Stations

•LaShonda Brewer, Northwest Middle- Exploring with Edison: V2.0 Robots

•Deona Fox, T. J. Harris Upper Elementary- Project-based Learning Garden and Market

•Cindy Duke, Oakland Heights Elementary- The Art of Coding: Integrating Technology and the Arts

•Rebecca Davis, Stacy Winham, Amy Burkes, West Hills Elementary- Picture THIS!

•Kim Runyon, Oakland Heights, Western Garden Satellite Classroom- Amazing Ways to Act Out Stories

•Carolyn Hendricks, Popular Springs Elementary, Regina Steele, West Hills Elementary, Lynn Bryan, Northwest Middle, Felix Hall, T. J. Harris- Creative Problem Solving Across the Disciplines

•Dillan Ladner, Meridian High School- Ceramics and 3D Printing

The mini-grants will be used by the teachers to fund projects for their classrooms.


MPSD educators receive J.A. mini grants.

Top row, pictured from left; Rebecca Davis, West Hills; Dillon Ladner, MHS and Dr. Carla Fleming, Marion Park. Bottom row, pictured from left; Carolyn Hendricks, Poplar Springs; Deona Fox, T.J. Harris Upper Elementary; Kim Runyyon, Oakland Heights & Western Garden Satellite Classroom and LaShonda Brewer, Northwest Middle.